A RIDE IN THE COUNTRY

 

     It was a beautiful day here in Central Florida with the temperature in the high sixties which is as high as it has gotten in the last few days.  We’ve really had some cold nights already this year which is unusual.  Anyway, even though we have plenty of work to do before our party on Christmas Day my husband and I decided to take a nice ride in the country.  The leaves on several different kinds of trees have turned the most beautiful colors.  Maybe they have done so in years past and I failed to notice because I was still working but this year the forest is so breath-taking.  In my opinion North Carolina can offer nothing better as far as colored leaves go.  I took so many photos, one of which appears above.  There are several more on my flickr site which you can reach from this page by clicking on “Photos I’ve Taken.” 

     Then on highway 60 between Tampa and Mulberry we stopped at a restaurant named “Cowboy Steakhouse Saloon.”  The food was spectacular.  I order a grilled chicken sandwich and it was the biggest piece of chicken breast that I have ever gotten on a sandwich at a restaurant and let me tell you I’ve eaten at many restaurants.  The chicken was so moist and juicy and it came with a large order of steak fries.  My husband is a big eater and his salad was almost too much for him.  The greens were very fresh and the steak was cooked just right.  Our waitress, Lia, was efficient and friendly.  She said the connecting saloon has a dance every Friday and Saturday night and one other night which I believe was Wednesday but don’t quote me on that.  I’ve included a picture of the dance floor below. There is a large Western Wear store next door and out back a rodeo arena.  You can find Cowboy Steakhouse Saloon ten miles east of Brandon and twenty-two miles east of Tampa.  The menu is a little pricey but well worth the money.  I highly recommend this place and if you do stop in please tell Lia that you heard about it from my blog?

     Yes, we still have lots of work to do to be ready for our party Saturday but our afternoon ride was so rewarding.  This time of year when everyone is rushed and it seems all our days are hectic it is good medicine to take an afternoon ride in the country, enjoy the beautiful leaves and relax.  After all the season is not about being stressed out.  The day is about celebrating the birth of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ so why not take one afternoon and appreciate some of the blessings He has given us in nature.

I hope you stop back by again soon.

God bless and Merry Christmas.

2 responses to “A RIDE IN THE COUNTRY

  1. And they say Florida doesn’t have fall colors?

Leave a Reply

