Life is Like An Onion

     I talked to my sister today and we were reminiscing about our childhood and our siblings.  The other eight brothers and sisters have all gone home to be with the Lord.  We were blessed to have had them touch our lives in so many positive ways. 

     Our parents weren’t rich but we weren’t poor either.  Daddy had a small 193 acre farm in Georgia.  Everybody had chores to do but we all worked together so life was not bad.  Momma and Daddy always told us we could be anything we wanted to be; that all we had to do was set our heart on it and work real hard.  They never laughed or said it was foolish when I told them my dream of being an author.  During the summer, when the days were long and the work was hard, in the evenings we would all sit out on our wide front porch.  It ran all the way across the front of the house and was pretty full with several rocking chairs.  The kids who were not lucky enough to get a chair sprawled on the steps while others sat with their feet dangling over the edge of the porch.  I was the youngest of the ten so most nights I snuggled in Daddy’s lap and he rocked me.  We all usually had a cold glass of ice tea and Momma kept a pitcher full beside her on a small table; ready to refill any empty glass.  Most of the boys played guitars and my Momma played a banjo.   The family sang together as we relaxed.  The mosquitoes buzzed around our heads as the sun sank lower in the sky and the stars came out.  Often some of the neighbors would drift up the red clay lane that led to our house from the main road and join in the singing.  Momma had taught my other siblings (I never could carry a tune even in a bucket) to harmonize and they sang in church most Sundays.  The weather was hot and the humidity hung heavy in the air.  Hot weather bugs and crickets hid in the dark and added their music to the melodies.  Some nights a soft breeze blew the pretty music down the road and through the hollow.  Every night I vowed to stay wake and go to bed when the others did but I usually drifted off to sleep and woke the next morning snuggled against my sister with the music still echoing in my head.

     Like an onion as we grew we developed layer by layer to become the people we are today.  We learned so many lessons on that front porch but I believe the most important was how to love and to be loved.  Now even though Momma and Daddy and all the other siblings are with the Lord (I like to think they’re singing in Heaven) my sister and I have all those wonderful memories.   If you could peel us back layer by layer like an onion you would see our Momma and Daddy’s teaching and love on each layer.

Thanks for listening to my memories.  Please stop back by real soon.  Tell someone you care about that you love them before it is too late.  I have no regrets where my family is concerned because we all shared a wonderful love and knew it.

Leave a Reply

