My Addiction is Behind Me

Devotion for Feb. 4, 2011

Exodus 3:1-22

     When we quit trying to solve our problems our way and by our own strength and seek God’s ways we will be surprised what God will do in and through us. In Exodus 2:11-25 we see how Moses tried to do things his way.  When he saw the Egyptian beating a Hebrew slave he killed him then buried him in the sand.  The next day he went out and saw two Hebrews fighting when he tried to intercede they asked if he was going to kill them too.  So he fled the country.  He saw that he could not take care of things his way.  However, the verses today show what would happen when he relied on God.

     God is here for us just as He was there for Abraham, Moses, David and all the people in the Bible.  We just have to learn to turn to Him and trust His promises.  What he did for them He will do for us.

     I was a 2 1/2 pack a day smoker.  I tried over and over to quit in my strength but each time I failed.  It seemed after each failure I smoked even more.  I hated it but I was addicted!  Then one night I pled to God to please take the addiction away.  I told Him I was claiming His promise that Jesus said “Whatever I asked for in His name and believed I had it then it was mine.”  So I told God I was claiming to be addiction free.  Then I went to sleep.  The next morning when I awoke I did not crave a cigarette. (That was usually the first thing I did; lite up before I got out of bed.)  From that day ’til this I have not wanted a cigarette.  I can be around others smoking and it doesn’t make me want one.  It has been over twenty years and I praise God for taking away my addiction.  It was not anything I did IT WAS ALL GOD.  I know God keeps His promises.  Trust Him and see what He will do in your life.

Thanks for stopping by.

God bless.

Leave a Reply

