Am I Lazy or What

    

     I need to vent a little tonight.  I’ve been working on another Southern Drama manuscript for what seems like forever.  I know exactly where it is going and the ending.  My problem is I can’t make myself sit down and work on it.  I make all kinds of excuses.  I go on a trip to take photos or I work in my yard. I even write this blog.  I stooped so low that I read another book.  I have notes all ready to start another manuscript but I refuse to do so until I finish this one.  Why can’t I finish this novel?  What in Heaven’s name is wrong with me? 

     Writer’s block?  I don’t think so because I know what is going to happen.  The characters are calling to me. 

     If it isn’t pure laziness in its purest form I don’t know what it is.  I’ve prayed about it and I feel that God would never have given me this desire to write if He didn’t want me to be an author.

     Am I afraid I’ll be a failure?  That this novel won’t sell?  Maybe that’s it.  But we all know when we put pen to paper or fingers to keyboard that this is not a millionaire’s career.  Oh it is very true that some have made it big but more have not.  So we don’t write thinking we’re going to get rich we write because we have to write.  There is something in us that won’t let us quit.  So why isn’t that something working for me right now?  I think about the characters and I know them so well and I plan what will happen but I just can’t make myself take the time to put it on paper.

     Okay, enough of the whining and having a pity party.  I need to quit this and work on that.  If what I write isn’t good enough I can always take it out and write again tomorrow.

     Thanks for listening.  Until next time stay safe and bear with me, we’ll have a new Southern Drama soon.  I wouldn’t mind if you whisper my name when you say your prayers. Thanks.

6 responses to “Am I Lazy or What

  1. You have to know that it builds up… when you sit and start to write, the laziness will disappear… you have to take action. The best writer in the world could be out there right now, and we may never hear about him or her because she or he were too lazy to share the fragment of the creator in us all.
    All the best for you and all the writers out there 🙂 may your work find its way to my shelves one day

  2. I know exactly what you’re talking about because I have gone through in writing my YA fantasy (it’s also has a Southern flare ;). I think the biggest issue for me is this fear of writing a bad sentence. I get stuck, and then I don’t want to bother with it. But I’m learning, if I’m going to get anything done, I’ve got to go ahead and write, even if it reads awkwardly. After all, I can always go back and edit. 🙂 Best of luck on your book!

    • Thanks for your wonderful comment. Now that I’m back to writing I wonder how I got stuck in the first place. I’ve made myself a schedule and I’m trying hard to go by it. I must keep reminding myself that photography and gardening are my hobbies but writing is my career. My fear was that I was telling not showing my story. I’ve also learned to get the story down and edit later. I’ve written since I was in my teens, granted most of it was no where new publishable but it was practice. I absolutely love your photos. Have a blessed day and keep writing.

  3. One step at a time and one word at a time. When its time it will come flowing back and you wont be able to stop putting words on paper. You can do this.

Leave a Reply

