Sunflower

 

     Several years ago we went to visit on my in-laws farm.  My brother-in-law had planted some sunflower seeds and the plants were over six feet tall with blooms almost the size of dinner plates.  Yes I was impressed since I’m a flower nut. 

     So for the last couple of years, since I retired, I’ve tried to grow sunflowers but every year the squirrels dig up the seed and eat them.  I tried everything from putting moth balls to hot pepper of the seed but still they ate them; the pesky creatures!  This year my husband built me something like a mini greenhouse or maybe you’d call it a cage; whatever.  The frame is about two feet high and wide and about four feet long and this he covered with screen wire.  It fits on our picnic table, which we seldom use, on the patio and is the absolutely ideal to start seed; safe from the squirrels.  When the sunflowers got about two feet tall I was able to put them in my flower garden which might be called an English Garden but I just call it eclectic.  If I see a flower and like it I buy and plant it wherever it fits in the yard.

     Now I pampered these plants and were so proud of them and sure enough they got about five and six feet tall.  I only had five but that was enough to make me happy.  And oh yes, what joy the day the huge bloom opened.  If it wasn’t as big as my brother-in-law’s it was most definitely a close second.

     Then disaster!  I walked out there one morning and one of them was broken down to the ground.  I wanted to cry but I sucked it up since I still had four.  And in a few days another bit the dust.  I knew it was my pesky neighbors who I feed and water.  Shame on them for being so ungrateful!  I had pampered these plants and watched them grow from seeds to seedlings and then big tall plants with large blooms.  Yes, I was proud.  But now that I had lost two I worried about the other three.  I dug my husband’s large plastic owl from his shop, I say dug because he piles everything in that place.  I call it his man cave.  Anyway, I wedged the owl between some limbs on my crepe myrtle and I hope it scares the living daylights out of those squirrels.

     Then I got to thinking; is that how God feels when someone refuses His offer of salvation.  He knew us before we were knitted together in the womb. (Jeremiah 1:5 and Psalm 139:13)  He knew us and He watched us grow from seed to seedling and then adulthood.  Does it break His heart when we ignore Him?  And when He sees Satan come along and destroy us.  

     God gave us the freedom of choice but it doesn’t mean He stops loving us when we refuse Him.

     Thanks for stopping by.  Until next time stop and enjoy the flowers along life’s way.  God only gave us one life and He wants us to live it to the fullest. John 14:27

 

Leave a Reply

