My Little Piece of Florida

 

     I lay basking in my bed lost somewhere between awake and the wonderful bliss of dreams.  From the dim greenish light filling the room I knew it was close to five in the morning.  I stretched but didn’t get up.  I could hear the birds singing and the whir of my ceiling fan added to the quiet noise and the quality of tranquility.  I said a prayer thanking God for where I live and all He has given me and then I asked Him to tell me what I could do for Him today.  When the coffee pot added its plop plop to the rhythm of my morning I knew it was time to rise and shine.  Besides that my bladder was screaming for relief.

     After washing my face and hands and pouring myself a cup of the dark brown brew I made my way to the back porch and my glider.  There’s a comforting hush over the world at this hour of the morning.  The sky is neither dark nor light it’s that in between dull gray. A light fog shrouds the trees beyond my privacy fence and gives a slight eerie touch.  This is my time.  The birds are chirping and hopping around the food and water I keep in my backyard for them.  My big old dog snuggles my legs wanting her ears scratched and afterwards curls up in a ball at my feet and promptly falls back to sleep.  She’s old and I know she won’t be here to share these mornings much longer.   

     I sigh and take a drink of coffee as I look out at my property, ‘my little piece of Florida,’ I like to call it.  It is not huge but it is not one of those yards that are almost as small as a postage stamp.  I have almost an acre and love it.  I do my own yard work.  A stranger can’t take care of it with the love I do.  I’m not one of those prissy, prissy girls.  As a matter of fact I don’t mind getting sweaty or my hands dirty.  I love cutting the grass with a push mower and watching the small bugs hopping out of the way of the sharp blade and the sweet smell of fresh-cut grass swirling around me.

     I turn and look along the privacy fence at my flower gardens.  It seems the weeds grow faster than the flowers.  By the time I finish weeding all the way around it is time to start all over again.  I have quite a collection there; roses, sunflowers, zinnias, Joe Pye weed, dog fennel (yeah I know some call that a weed but I think they are pretty and it’s my yard) periwinkles, Berbera daisies, lilies and many, many more.  Several my husband has adamantly told me are weeds but I tell him ‘one man’s weed is another man’s flower.’  If I like the way it looks I either keep it if it comes up on its own or plant it myself.

     A reddish gold ring is appearing on the horizon so I know the sun will be here soon.  I down the rest of my coffee and go get dressed but the tranquility and peace I found this morning out on my porch just me, God, Jesus and the Holy Spirit will last me all day.  Unless someone tees me off.

     This blog really has no rhyme or reason it is just some of my thoughts.

      Thanks for stopping by and until next time if you have a porch slip out in the early morning hour just before daybreak and sit on it as you count your blessings.  You’ll find that they out weigh your hardships every time.  God bless.

Leave a Reply

