WE LIVE AND DIE BY THE DECISIONS WE MAKE

    

  At an early age I learned that we all live and die by our decisions.  Once we are old enough to know right from wrong then we are responsible for our own decisions.  Oh yes, it’s true of me and it might be true of you, that God has control of my life.  He surely does.  However, He allows us to make our own decisions.

     Take my first novel for example; when I got the offer from its publisher deep down I felt that I should not go with them.  But I was so excited to see it in print that I pushed aside the feeling.  And I fully believe it was the Holy Spirit guiding me but I squelched His warning.  Thessalonians 5:19 tells us to not quench (squelch) the Holy Spirit.  In other words we are to listen to Him and not push His teaching and guidance aside; which I did.  So God allowed me to make my decision and of course I didn’t make as much as I would have had I waited for God.  But it was solely my decision and I must live with it.

     If you are having trouble in a relationship you might want to blame the other person.  But the thing to do is stop, look at the situation and see if it isn’t because of some decision you are making or have made in the past.  The reason might have been getting involved with that person in the first place.  If you can’t see it just ask God to show you and He will.  I know He has helped me so much in my life.  And remember you will never, ever be able to change another person.  The only person you can change is yourself.  None of us are perfect but we can work to shape our lives with Jesus for the pattern.

     I can’t blame God because I have not finished my new novel “Tomorrow’s Memories.”  I’ve been very lazy and procrastinated way too much.  A habit I must try hard to get rid of.  God tells us that we shouldn’t be lazy (a sluggard) that we should look at how hard the ant works and do the same. (Proverbs 6: 6-8 & Proverbs 10: 4&5.)  If we are lacking (whether wealth or satisfaction) because we procrastinated and are lazy we can not blame God. Yes He provides what we need but He also told Adam that he would earn his living by the sweat of his brow (Genesis 3:10.)  I don’t know where you could find it in the Bible or if it is even in the Bible but as I’ve said before, I believe God gives each of us a talent and He leaves it up to us to find that talent, fine tune it and make our living.  If we make the decision to ignore the talent then we face the consequences.  But it is our decision.  He gave us the tools and we can choose to use them or let them lay dormant.  If you watch nature you will see that even the animals and birds search for their food.  God provides it but they must find it.   Should we expect anything more?

     I promise myself that I will quit procrastinating and put in so many hours a day on “Tomorrow’s Memories” at least five days a week.  I must because there are so many other novels in me that I need to get out.  When I retired I told myself that I would write more; that I would treat my writing as a regular job where I had to show up so many hours a day.  I lied to myself and I haven’t done that but I fully intend to correct that error (or lie whichever you prefer.)

     Thanks for stopping by.  Until next time keep writing and watch what decisions you make.  God bless.

Leave a Reply

