READ

As I have said before, so many times that by now you probably know it by heart, I’m an avid reader.  I have to read!  If I didn’t have a book I would probably read labels and the small print on a toothpaste box.  I prefer reading to television.  You can blame my sister, Roser Lee, for this habit of mine.  She read to me when I was so small she could wedge me between her side and the arm of the chair.  Classics like “The Little Shepherd of Kingdom Come” were what she poured into me instead of fairy tales or Mother Goose Stories.  I grew up in a small town with an even smaller library and I bet I read every fiction book in that place before I moved away.  In the summer when other kids were out swimming and enjoying the beautiful, hot southern days I was in the house with my nose stuck in a book.  So I feel qualified to give my opinion on novels.

     I’ve just finished “Stolen Prey” by John Sandford.  I believe I have read almost, if not all of Sandford’s “Prey” novels.  He can really spin a tale.  I’ve watched Lucas Davenport develop his detective skills and grow his family over the years.  This character almost seems real to me.  “Stolen Prey” is a wonderful, well written novel in a style that is strictly John’s.  If you want a good read without all the erotica then I recommend his novels.  I suggest you start with the first of the “Prey” series and watch Lucas develop from novel to novel.  I’m sure you won’t be disappointed.

      Thanks for stopping by and until next time keep reading and remember you don’t have to be a great writer to be an avid reader but you must be an avid reader to be a great writer.  God bless

Leave a Reply

