DEVELOP YOUR OWN VOICE AND STYLE

 

     Has this ever happened to you?  You’ve been reading all the great writing instructions from Writer’s Digest and you’re all excited and think “Man I am on my way!”  Then you sit down at the computer and your mind goes blank.  It has happened to me too many times to count.  I get excited when I read the “How Tos” but it just doesn’t click with whatever article or novel I’m working on. 

     I think I finally have it all figured out.  The reason the advice doesn’t always work for me is because I’m trying to make my people (characters if you will) do what I want them to do instead of what they would normally do.  After all if these people aren’t real to you, believe me, they won’t be real to your reader.  My work flows easier when I roll with the flow.

     I know most novel writers have an outline and they stick almost strictly to that outline.  I don’t and I can’t.  First and foremost I get to know my characters.  I mean everything about them; maybe and most probably even little things that never show up in the novel but I know them.  They become real to me.  And of course I know my plot and the general gist of what is going to happen then I follow the characters.  They have taken me to some interesting places let me tell you.  They become so real to me and I look forward to sitting at the computer and seeing what is about to happen.  I love my people!!

     This might not work for you.  I believe just as we all have our own voice we all have our own style of developing our stories and novels.  I firmly say “don’t force it!”  Just find your style and voice and stick with them.  I’m southern and there is absolutely no way I could have a New England voice but I can love and develop my southern voice.  And in the same way I can love and develop my style.

Writing is a hard road to follow so we must learn to enjoy the trip.  I know how the story or novel will end but I will not coerce that end.  I write because I simply have to write and if it gets published that is a bonus.

     Thanks for stopping by and until next time keep writing and enjoy what you are writing; get to know your people and love them.  God bless.

 

 

Leave a Reply

