PATRIOTIC OR SENTIMENTAL

SentimentalDSC_0248

Whenever I hear The Star Spangled Banner it brings tears to my eyes.  Am I being sentimental or patriotic?

We are so blessed to live in The United States of America.  Our freedom did not come free.  No… our fathers, brothers, husbands, sisters and even mothers paid the highest price for the rights we enjoy in this country and to stand and sing that song. They paid and are still paying so we can post how we feel about our country or anything else we so choose.  We can open our Bibles and read them in public without the fear of being punished or killed or have our families tortured because we follow Jesus.  As far as that goes we have a freedom to choose any religion we care to believe in.  I hate to hear someone run down our country.  If they don’t like it they have the freedom to leave any time they want.  It is true there are faults in The United States but I will take it over any other place on earth.  I am so thankful that God let me be born and live in such a beautiful and wonderful place.

When we hear The Star Spangled Banner lets all stand and be thankful for our military and the rights they provide for us every day.  So…am I sentimental or patriotic?  I like to think I am a little of both.

 

4 responses to “PATRIOTIC OR SENTIMENTAL

  1. Powerful words… and thank you for saying them! I believe sentimentality is part of patriotism. Can we truly be patriots unless we have sentiment for those who have gone before us and all they have accomplished? I do not think so. Thank you for an excellent post!

  2. I agree with Galen911. I think they both come hand in hand. I, too, am proud to be an American and love my country very much. So, this post was very relatable.

Leave a Reply

