SPRING GARDEN

Not too Fearless to Plant a Garden

I swore up and down that I would not have a vegetable garden this spring.  They are wonderful and I enjoy the work but I promised myself that I would spend more time with my flowers.  Well… as spring approached I got the fever.  I’ve been composting and trying to build up the quality of soil in my yard but it isn’t quite there yet.  Oh in the fall I grew beautiful collards and mustard and we are still enjoying meals from them.  And I did have my small bean patch I made from my grandson’s wading pool that he has out grown.  I get about a mess of beans a week; most we have eaten but we’ve also been able to share. I was going to share a photo of it but can’t seem to find one.  Maybe I never took one…oh well I’ll make sure to include it in a later post.  Anyway, back to the story.  Yep, I got the gardening fever.  So I decided to start something small.   I commandeered the old recycling bins that have been replaced with nice big garbage cans.  I filled them with potting soil and planted carrots.  Then I placed an old screen from a window we replaced recently on top to save my precious seed from the squirrels.3-25-16 013

3-25-16 015

You can see a tiny bit of the pool bean patch in the photo.

I was so happy thinking about my soon to eat sweet carrots but when you get the fever two small recycling bins just aren’t enough.  So….  I talked my sweet husband in to building me some raised beds.

3-25-16 009

Raised bed with lining.

lined raised bed

And my sweet neighbor who manages a Supply Place for Landscapers brought me some great potting soil and filled my beds.  He is an angel of a person and is always helping us in any way he can.

first soil

And last for this story but certainly not least, yesterday I was able to put out the first plants and seeds.

hot peppers and tomatoes

I am so excited!  I can hardly wait for everything to start producing so I can share with others.  That is one of the wonderful things about having a garden, being able to give to neighbors and friends and even strangers.  I will definitely keep everyone posted on the progress, of course with pictures, and you might just stop by, have a nice cold glass of iced tea and leave loaded down with fresh vegetables.

Until then thanks for stopping by, and remember to keep enjoying every minute God has given you.  There are so many things to be thankful for.  And if you’ve never tried it give gardening a try even if it is in one small pot.  You will be surprised how rewarding it is.  I believe it adds years to you life; if not I know it adds life to your years.

God bless.

 

 

 

3 responses to “SPRING GARDEN

  1. I, too, am fearlessly planting a garden this year. You seem to have FAR more experience. This was a fun read!

Leave a Reply

