How Does Your Garden Grow

 

I have no “Silver Bells , Cockle Shells nor Pretty Maids all in a Row” but I have a wonderful garden.  I absolutely love working in my garden whether it is with flowers or vegetables. I believe you might call me a plant collector instead of a gardener; though I don’t mind either handle.  I can’t seem to go to Lowe’s without coming home with some kind of plant or seed; I love their mark down plants (usually 75 percent off.)  Sure most of them look like they are at death’s door and some have no flower but that’s alright because with a little bit of love and care they bounce back. And I’ve been eyeing them for a couple of weeks so I know what the flowers will look like when it blooms again. But since this post is about “Future” we will start with a couple of weeks ago when my vegetable bed was bare.  Remember?

first soil

I planted a few seed and small plants and before I knew it here we are at week two and I have squash (four kinds) radishes, beets, eggplants, tomatoes and peppers all growing beautifully.  Oh my, I forgot carrots.  I’ve never been able to get carrots to grow before but I have them now almost an inch high.  And pumpkins!  They too are almost an inch high.  Hopefully this Halloween my grandson can pick his pumpkin from our garden for his Jack-O-Lantern.  Yes!  You know I will record him making his decision.

But alas, no onions.  Everyone says you can grow onions when you can’t grow anything else but that is just not true for me.  My poor onion seed never germinated (the squirrels might have eaten them; pesky critters.)  But cheer up!  Tomorrow I will plant Sugar Peas in that spot.  I have them soaking in water tonight which, I’m told will make them sprout sooner.

And yes, I am still getting collards and green beans from fall’s garden.  There is something special about eating fresh vegetables from your own garden.

Collards

I will keep you posted on the progress of my garden; both vegetables and flowers.  Just wait until you see my meadow this year!  I have my fingers crossed all the seeds I’ve sown there will grow.

Thanks for stopping by, please come back soon and mean while plant something.  I promise you will enjoy watching it grow.  God Bless.

 

 

Future

3 responses to “How Does Your Garden Grow

  1. Such simple post like this can turn someone into a gardener ……. or a plant collector

Leave a Reply

