THE GARDEN WEEK THREE

April 20 2016 026

RISK     Yeah I know that I’ve been showing you my vegetable garden but every now and then I need to sneak in a flower or two.  I just plain love gardening whether it is vegetables or flowers.  Like I said before I’m a plant collector.  The photo above is my ginger blooming.  Those little beautiful pearls will soon open to gorgeous flowers.

CSC_0340A

     I had to take the risk to show you because I so want you to see them.  Recently I watched a tv show that demonstrated how to get ginger started from a piece you buy at the grocery.  I purchased a small piece for seventy cents then I broke it into three pieces and planted those in pots (it was about a month ago.)  They sprouted and are about three inches high.  I can’t wait to see what their bloom looks like.  I’ll take pictures of them growing but I forgot to today.

     Okay; on to the vegetable garden.  Everything (except the onions) is growing well.  I planted sweet peas where the onions were supposed to be and several of them have sprouted.The squash are blooming.  We actually had fried squash blooms at supper.  They were absolutely delicious.

The pepper plants are loaded with small peppers.  They are too spicy for me so I’ll give them away but it is fun to see them grow. And the tomatoes are looking strong and healthy.

     As you can see I have been very busy outside and loving every minute.  Today we raked and bagged leaves and we’re only half way there.  I save some of them in the compost bin but there is just too many to keep them all because we have several oak trees and an equal amount of Laurel Leaf Cherry.  And on that note I will say good night because I am so tired. Please come back soon and let me know what you are growing and how it is going.  I forgot to show you my pumpkin plants but God willing and Jesus lingers I’ll show you later.  And of course my Dutchman’s Pipe vine; the blooms are so wonderfully beautiful.  One fell of the vine and I opened it and found seed sooo guess who is saving Dutchman’s Pipe seeds.

Good night.

Leave a Reply

