HOW DOES YOUR GARDEN GROW

I’ve been so proud of my garden this fall.  Our collards, mustard, Brussel sprouts and broccoli are all doing or did fine. We got more tomatoes than usual; they’re small but delicious.  So I really shouldn’t complain but my eggplants are a different story.

dsc_0271

 

     The plants themselves look good and they bloom but absolutely no fruit!  I tried pollinating them with a q-tip and small brush but that didn’t do one ounce of good.  What could I be doing wrong?  My sister said maybe I had two male plants but what do I know.  How would one tell?

dsc_0272

     Anyway… I told them if they didn’t do something soon I am going to pull them up, feed them to the chickens and try again in the spring.

     I’m really looking forward to a spring garden and I’ve been busy trying to decide what to plant.  I know I need to rotate and not plant the same thing in the same place.  I love looking through the seed catalogs.  Billy made me two raised beds last spring and I think we will add a couple more this year.  I need to start getting them ready so I can plant in February.

     Thank you for stopping by and until next time “Happy Gardening.”  God bless.

Leave a Reply

