FEATHERLESS BIRD

After waiting  and watching for what seemed like and eternity I was finally able to get a quick shot of one of the humming birds that visit my yard.  They are so fast and I am so slow that getting this photo was like winning a grand prize.

CSC_0385

I love birds and butterflies and I guess the people who doesn’t are few and far between.  I plant flowers to attract them and put out food like so many others.  But there is one scene that I often see and I call this character a featherless bird.  There is a street that I travel on quite a lot and it is lined with some very nice apartments and condos on one side and a golf course on the other. So I assume this particular bird lives in one of them.  Really it isn’t a bird at all.  Out in front of the condos there is a man that does his exercise on the side of the road.  Now let me tell you; this is not a body builder or even a body that you would go “Wow!” over.  Bless his heart.  He is so skinny so I assume with all his workouts he is healthy.  He has red frizzy hair and certainly not a tan to brag about but I guess he thinks he is a fine specimen of mankind and that we all want to see him stretch and what have you.  In the summer he wears tiny running shorts, running shoes and socks; no shirt which would improve the appearance.  He looks like a bird who has lost all his feathers.  And in the winter he wears what looks like red thermal underwear with long sleeves and legs. Trust me this is not a pretty sight.  I don’t want to be mean because he has every right to be there and I think it is a great idea to keep in shape.   But come on, take your stretching to your yard or condo then if one sees you jogging by it won’t be so hard on the eyes and heart.  I salute him for being brave enough to do it beside a busy street and I’ve seen him for years so all I can really say is “Good luck Red and go for it.”  Bless his heart.

Thank you for stopping by.  This is not my usual post but I wanted to get this off my chest.  I will keep driving that way (you know I could go another street if he offends me but he really doesn’t) and I guess he will keep stretching and I will continue to picture a featherless bird.  Hey someone might think he looks great!  Until next time God bless.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/photo-challenges/bridge/

 

6 responses to “FEATHERLESS BIRD

  1. Nice photo

    Sent from my Galaxy Tab® A

  2. Love your “bless his heart”!

  3. LOL re Big Red – I always cringe when I see people (usually men) running in skivvies and shirtless – honestly who are they trying to impress??? Anyway, congrats on the hummingbird. As you’d see in my post this week I was not quite so successful. I googled how to shoot them and you’d need enough equipment to fill a truck to really capture them so I went the creative route 🙂

  4. Yes, I’ve tried for years to get a photo of them. I didn’t spend a lot of money. I just bought a Shepard’s Hook and hung suet and I also have red tubular flowers right there. Good luck and keep enjoying the birds and trying.Thank you for your comment.

Leave a Reply

